Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_20150718_090404765A slippery slope * Tumbling into the wasteland * Seeking seed of hope

A couple of years ago, if I remember correctly, I had the urge to play with my monogram to see what sort of cipher I might devise.  Imagine my surprise when, of all things, a dung beetle emerged.  Imagine also that my curiosity was piqued when I read Mark Griffith’s article regarding in part a cipher of William Shakespeare’s name in an article published in the May 20, 2015 edition of Country Life UK magazine.  One reaction to the article on my part was to dust off my own cipher, which you see here.

The motto written across the beetle’s back is one of the several mottos held by the many branches of Butler families.  The French translates roughly to, “As I find it.”  Rather appropriate for a dung beetle, I think.

The haiku combines that element of taking things as you find them with the spirit of the person, in Paul Muldoon’s “The Loaf,” combing through horse manure for a seed of grain.

Barbara Butler McCoy, c. 2015, image and text.