Tags

, , , , , ,

…because, after all, life is uncertain.

What is today’s dessert?  Peanut Butter Pie.  Yes.  Some of us – not naming any names – may drizzle chocolate syrup over the top of their piece and then crown it with a dollop of freshly whipped whip cream.  Not naming any names, as I said.

Yum.

The recipe is from a cookbook I bought a million years ago from a group of church ladies and it was my husband’s request for his ‘birthday cake.’  We don’t do things the usual way here.  My younger son’s ‘birthday cake’ this year was cheesecake, Grammie McCoy’s recipe (very well used after 31 years!) and my older son’s usual request for his ‘birthday cake,’ since his birthday is in mid-August, is an easy lime pie (we like it better than Key Lime Pie, sorry key limes.)  My birthday cake?  Who knows what it will be, beyond some form of chocolate!

On top of not conforming to birthday cake standards, we’re celebrating my husband’s birthday and Father’s Day out of order because he has to be out of town.  I’m biting my nails that he might not like the gift I chose for him.

Ordinarily we’d all be tempted to skip right to dessert, but the crab cakes and corn on the cob and buttermilk cornbread are not to be bypassed.  (I can see it all in the oven as I type this and my mouth is watering …)

Hope your weekend is lovely.

Barbara Butler McCoy

[[Photo:  Hibiscus Blossoms. 2012, Barbara Butler McCoy]]